

E-NOTICE

May 23, 2023

CPAA 2023-2024 Board of Directors

As the Chair of the CPAA, I am pleased to present the 2023/2024 Board of Directors. I would like to welcome our newest members Bob Chrenek, Kyle Whitfield and Kristen Harder and our student members Bogdan Kapatsil and Bhavana Chaudhary.

The CPAA Board will be meeting in a couple of weeks for our annual strategic retreat, where we will organize our efforts for the coming year. Keep watch for upcoming information about the 2024 conference.

Hilary Janzen, Lethbridge County, Chair Alisha Mody, Town of Peace River, Past Chair Geoff Tiffin, County of Newell, Vice Chair South Nick Lapp, County of Grande Prairie, Vice Chair North Dnyanesh Deshpande, Green Space Alliance, Treasurer

David Schoor, ISL Engineering and Land Services Ltd, Director Nick Pryce, V3 Group of Companies, Director Robert Nygaard, Big Lakes County, Director Daniel MacGregor, B&A Planning Group, Director Kristen Harder, Dillon Consulting Limited, Director Bob Chrenek, County of Grande Prairie, Director Kyle Whifield, University of Alberta, Director

Bhavana Chaudhary, University of Calgary, Student Director Lawrenz Decano, University of Lethbridge, Student Director Bogdan Kapatsila, University of Alberta, Student Director

CPAA Board of Directors | CPA Alberta

2023 CPAA Annual Conference

Preparing for the Unknown: The Intersection of Planning and Politics

May 1-3, 2023 Nisku, Alberta

Thank you to our Speakers, Sponsors, Delegates and Conference Committee!

The session presentations are now available:

CPAA Conference Presentations | CPA Alberta

The Silent Auction proceeds netted \$1368.00. Thank you!

The silent auction supports the CPAA Student Scholarships: Up to three (3) \$1,000.00 prizes to students pursuing a post-secondary education in community planning. Thank you to our delegates for their generous contributions of unique items to our silent auction.

Community Planning Achievement Award

We are pleased to announce that the winner of the 2023 Award!

Heart of Lacombe City of Lacombe

The CPAA Scholarship and Awards Committee were very impressed by all the applications received for the 2023 Community Achievement Award. As this is only the 2nd year for this Award, the Committee was happy to see an increase in applications this year as well as the extremely high quality of all the submissions. In reading the submissions, the dedication, volunteerism, and community spirit of all involved was apparent and it quickly became obvious to the Committee there was a genuine pride and commitment in all parts of Alberta big and small to quality of life and improving opportunities for all residents. While it was a very difficult decision given nature of all the submissions, one application in particular 'touched the hearts' of the Committee.

The strong list of community benefits achieved through the completion of this project, the documented positive impact it has had on business and residents alike, and the impressive degree of community participation, volunteerism, and cooperation among multiple interests and local government representatives apparent in the City of Lacombe's "Heart of Lacombe" project made it the unanimous choice of the Committee for this year's Award.

CPAA Community Achievement Award

Student Scholarships

CPAA Tom Baldwin Memorial Graduate Scholarship in Planning 2022 recipient - Krisha Shah, University of Calgary

CPAA Awards and Scholarships | CPA Alberta

If you have any questions regarding sponsorship or registration please contact Vicki Hackl, CPAA Secretary at 780-432-6387 or at cpaa@cpaa.biz.

COMMUNITY PLANNING ASSOCIATION OF ALBERTA
Our mission is to provide opportunities to share, promote and encourage community planning among a full range of stakeholders.

CONTACT

Vicki Hackl CPAA Secretary

205 - 10940 166A Street Edmonton, AB T5P 3V5 Canada

Phone: (780) 432.6387 Fax: (780) 452.7718 E-mail: cpaa@cpaa.biz

CONNECT

Follow us @C P A A



Click here to <u>unsubscribe</u> from this mailing list.